Experience with pre-spliced anchor chain/rode?

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

john_mendelson

Experience with pre-spliced anchor chain/rode?

Post by john_mendelson »

Looking at a few options for my CD25. Anyone have experience, good, bad or otherwise with the pre-spliced setups from WM or Defender?

Thanks,

John
Jim Walsh

Re: Experience with pre-spliced anchor chain/rode?

Post by Jim Walsh »

I have no experience with WM but Defender uses a local rigger whom I have met on a few occasions at their annual warehouse sale. He spliced some WR 2 for me a few years ago and did a great job while I watched. I normally do all of my own splicing but I would not hesitate to use their service again.
Jim Walsh

Ex Vice Commodore
Ex Captain-Northeast Fleet

CD31 ORION

The currency of life is not money, it's time
ghockaday

Post by ghockaday »

john_mendelson wrote:Looking at a few options for my CD25. Anyone have experience, good, bad or otherwise with the pre-spliced setups from WM or Defender?

Thanks,

John
splicing is a fun worth while skill to have if your fingers are physically capable of doing it. A three braid anchor line is pretty easy. I would happily do it for anyone that asked me too. dee
Lower Chesapeake Bay, Sailing out of Carter's Creek
Danielle Elizabeth
CD30
atcowboy

Post by atcowboy »

Unfortunately I don't have the experience that you seek regarding the products.

But like Dee suggests, this is a very salty skill to have. I just bought new chain and rope to make new rhodes and was strongly considering prespliced. I chose to go with 8 plait for my main rhode to play nice with the windlass I hope one day to get. Since I've never spliced 8 plait before, I couldn't bring myself to buy that prespliced. If I cannot maintain it, it doesn't belong on my boat.

- AT
Carl Thunberg

Post by Carl Thunberg »