Convert a Yamaha F4SMHA outboard to remote shift/throttle

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

christhemacguy

Convert a Yamaha F4SMHA outboard to remote shift/throttle

Post by christhemacguy »

Hi all,
Newbie here. My newly acquired Typhoon came with a Yamaha F4SMHA outboard. It appears a bit ungainly as well as dangerous to sit on the transom to control the engine while steering with the tiller.
So, I am researching kits to allow me to remove the tiller arm from Yamaha and add a remote control kit of some sort. Closest I have seen is for the Tohatsu 8hp.
Hoping someone here has done it and has a few tips.
Chris
radsailor

Re: Convert a Yamaha F4SMHA outboard to remote shift/throttl

Post by radsailor »

It took me a little while to get used to using the outboard on my Typhoon, but now that I have the hang of it, it's fine. You can definitely make very sharp turns using the tiller and the motor. When coming into the slip I "feather" (my term) the throttle to just keep headway so I can jump off onto the dock while holding a shroud.
I read somewhere that someone fitted a pipe extension onto the throttle/tiller arm of his outboard so he could control speed and direction from further forward.
Last edited by radsailor on Feb 1st, '21, 07:36, edited 1 time in total.
mgphl52

Post by mgphl52 »

christhemacguy wrote: add a remote control kit of some sort. Closest I have seen is for the Tohatsu 8hp.
Chris
Chris, That's really a bit over-kill for a Typhoon. You really just want it stay centered until you need extra turn control and that should be done at idle speed. With practice you should be able to approach your slip/mooring, cut power and coast in...
-michael & Toni CDSOA #789
s/v KAYLA CD28 #318
2012 FLSTC Heritage Classic
Niceville FL
+30° 30' 24.60", -86° 26' 32.10"
"Just because it worked, doesn't mean it works." -me
No shirt + No shorts = No problem!