Starter wiring problem, maybe?

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

Bob_S

Starter wiring problem, maybe?

Post by Bob_S »

Hi All,
Once again, turning to you all for advice and the benefit of your accumulated knowledge and experiences. I bought Spirit, a '81 CD27 (YSM8 engine) last season mid-summer. I'm still learning about and bonding with her. Today's question is about the ignition wiring for the starter or, from the panel to the starter. With fully charged batteries I often get a delay or just a click or clunk sound when I hit the starter button. It seems the starter wants to spin and if I persist it will catch and turn over..eventually. It definitely isn't right though. I was told that while it seems like the starter is bad, it's really a common problem with that boat that has to do with the wiring being inadequate to carry the amp load. I'm just wondering if anyone else has heard of this and if there are any articles here that deal with that. I was told there are but I couldn't turn anything up in search..
As always, thank you in advance.
Bob S
Jim Evans

Re: Starter wiring problem, maybe?

Post by Jim Evans »

Hi Bob - I had the same problem on my '81 CD-33 with a Yanmar 3GM30F. On one occasion, I couldn't start the engine after refueling, (just heard the dreaded "click") and had to get a tow back to my slip. I had cleaned all the contacts, checked all the wiring, hired a recommended mechanic, all to no avail - and I wound up installing this relay: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001C ... UTF8&psc=1. Since then, I've had no problems. While I agree that the starter is probably seeing low voltage, I never found the cause, but this relay solved the problem for me. I think it's one of those repairs that has no down-side, and it's worth a try.
Jim Evans
Bill Goldsmith

Post by Bill Goldsmith »