Danforth versus Danforth "knock off"

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

Sea Hunt Video
Location: Former caretaker S/V Bali Ha'i 1982 CD 25D; Hull 69 and S/V Tadpole Typhoon Week

Danforth versus Danforth "knock off"

Post by Sea Hunt Video »

I was recently gifted an almost new Danforth-type anchor. I was, and remain, reluctant to ask the person if he knows if this is a legitimate Danforth anchor or if it is possibly some type of knock off from China or elsewhere.

There are no markings of any type on the anchor. I weighed it on a home bathroom scale. It weighs 24.2 lbs. In checking the Danforth website, the closest "weight" is a "Danforth Standard" which weighs 25 lbs. per their website (Model S1600). The stock, fluke and height measurements are almost the same as well. The one I received appears to be of sturdy construction but I have zero experience or knowledge with different types of "Danforth-type" anchors. http://www.danforthanchors.com/standard.html

Is there any way for me to determine if this is a legitimate Danforth anchor made by Tie Down Engineering in Georgia with their quality of materials, construction, etc., or if it is a "knock off" of questionable metallurgy, etc. from China or elsewhere :?: For obvious reasons I would feel a lot more comfortable at "zero dark thirty" knowing its a 24 lbs. Danforth made in the USA versus made by ChiComs.

Thanks in advance for any guidance, suggestions, etc.
Fair winds,

Roberto

a/k/a Sea Hunt "The Tadpole Sailor"
CDSOA #1097
"I wish to have no Connection with any Ship that does not Sail fast for I intend to go in harm's way." Captain John Paul Jones, 16 November 1778, as quoted in Naval History and Heritage Command, http://www.history.navy.mil
Jim Walsh

Re: Danforth versus Danforth "knock off"

Post by Jim Walsh »