CD25D on Ebay - Cheap

Selling or looking for a Cape Dory? Selling or looking for used gear? List your "Wanted to Buy" or "For Sale" items here.
David van den Burgh

CD25D on Ebay - Cheap

Post by David van den Burgh »

Russell

Re: CD25D on Ebay - Cheap

Post by Russell »

Based on the photos of the outside of the hull, I am guessing a hurricane sandy victim. So who knows, buyer beware, may have sunk? Maybe have who knows what damage? But then, if it sells cheap enough, a great project boat, at the current bid of $50 and change I would buy it, but of course it won't stay there.
Russell
s/v (yet to be named) Tayana 42CC
s/v Lady Pauline Cape Dory 36 #117 (for sale)
Gary H

Post by Gary H »

Sold for 56.99!
I would be curious to hear who bought it and what you find.
CDSOA Member 1389
Sea Hunt Video
Location: Former caretaker S/V Bali Ha'i 1982 CD 25D; Hull 69 and S/V Tadpole Typhoon Week

Post by Sea Hunt Video »

$60 for a 1982 Cape Dory 25D :!:

I am a rookie but just looking at the photos on ebay it seems like there is $5,000 worth of parts alone. What a deal.

The ad said "The interior of the boat shows well." Assuming that is accurate, it probably did not sink in Hurricane Sandy. The engine may well be good. Even if engine is bad, $5,000 for a new engine and $5,000 for structural repairs (a rough "guesstimate") that is still a very good deal.

Also important, the photos of the exterior show that that teak was very well cared for. One photo even appears to show the glisten of a gloss (like Cetol Clear Gloss or similar). That certainly suggests a well-cared-for Cape Dory.

I think someone got a great deal.
Fair winds,

Roberto

a/k/a Sea Hunt "The Tadpole Sailor"
CDSOA #1097
"I wish to have no Connection with any Ship that does not Sail fast for I intend to go in harm's way." Captain John Paul Jones, 16 November 1778, as quoted in Naval History and Heritage Command, http://www.history.navy.mil
Russell

Post by Russell »

Gary H wrote:Sold for 56.99!