1 GM water pump

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

John G.

1 GM water pump

Post by John G. »

Installed new impellar and gasket, started engine and now have water dripping from what looks like behind water pump and under the engine on the port side maybe halfway in between front and back of engine. Engine was not started last year, pumps water fine, is it time for a new water pump, if so is this a job for a mechanic or has anyone replaced one without running into to much difficulty. Water drips probably once every 10 seconds or less.
Dick Kobayashi
Location: Former owner of 3 CDs, most recently Susan B, a 25D

Re: 1 GM water pump

Post by Dick Kobayashi »

Not that I am an expert, but... the place where the drip forms and then drops is not usually the place where the leak is. I suggest drying the engine with an absorbent cloth or similar, starting the engine and closely observing the route by which water gets to the drip point. You may find a leaking hose or siimlar or even find that the gasket you put in the pump doesn't quite do the job. I suspect, however that during two years of non-use may a hose may have become brittle and is leaking a bit.
Dick K
CD 25D Susan B #104
Mattapoisett, MA

Fleet Captain - Northeast Fleet 2014/2015

Tempus Fugit. And not only that, it goes by fast. (Ron Vacarro 1945 - 1971)
Steve Laume

Post by Steve Laume »

Dick's advise is good but it sounds like the water pump seal. It is not good to have seawater dripping over your engine.