outboard engine for cd25

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

trbrustowicz

outboard engine for cd25

Post by trbrustowicz »

I am about to get a CD25 with an 8hp merc in the well. It will be moved to salt water. What do people do with this engine in the well??
I saw the plan for a bucket, and the idea of a vinyl bag...anyone use a sliding mount?
what other options other than horsing this 65lb moster out every time.
Ted
bgephart

Leave it in

Post by bgephart »

I have been sailing CD25s for over 30 years in tidal waters east of Savannah, and I have always just left my motor in the well in the seawater. I pull it once or maybe twice a year to clean and paint with antifouling paint - Trilux - and it works fine. My current 6HP Johnson is a 1994 and going strong. It's way too much hassle to pull that monster out regularly.
Al Levesque

Post by Al Levesque »

If you do leave it in be sure to clean it periodically. We left ours in the first year and the cooling passages were completely blocked by marine life. We noticed that the mussels growing inside were far too large to flush out. They must have entered as seeds and grew from there.

We had a 6hp and then chose to remove it each time and stored it on some cushioning material in the starboard seat locker. The lugging kept me younger :)
trbrustowicz

Post by trbrustowicz »

has anyone tried a some kind of slider to move the OB up and out of the water??
GLutzow

Not advisable

Post by GLutzow »

I had to replace the engine on my CD25 this year because of major corrosion caused by my leaving the engine in-water. I now RELIGIOUSLY remove the engine after use. This is especially important in saltwater.
Greg Lutzow
Nokomis, FL

CD25
"Beau Soleil"
sailing off a mooring in Sarasota Bay

With nothin' but stillness as far as you please
An' the silly mirage stringin' islands an' seas.
Oswego John