Want to Learn Celestial Navigation

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

gates_cliff

Want to Learn Celestial Navigation

Post by gates_cliff »

I want to learn Celestial Navigation. Can it be self taught from a book or do I need to take a class?
Jeff and Sarah
Location: CD33 "Prerequisite" / CD28 Flybridge Trawler "Toboggan"; Annapolis, MD

Post by Jeff and Sarah »

It can be self taught, but it is pretty complex. If you have an opportunity to take a class you should jump on it. It's a lot of fun though. We had to take 4 semesters of it at Texas Maritime Academy and I loved every minute of it.

OK that's a lie- I loved every minute of the concept, but shooting star lines near the Arctic Circle in the summer months means you are up very late for night stars and then very early a few hours later for morning stars. That wasn't so great.

Jeff
Bruce Dart
Location: Former owner of CD25 Wings O' Morning. Looking for a CD30

Learning Celestial Navigation

Post by Bruce Dart »

The Unlikely Boat Builder has a good primer on celestial navigation on his blog. You can find it here:

http://www.unlikelyboatbuilder.com/2010 ... ail boat.
Fair Winds.

Bruce Dart
WaywardWind

Celestial nav

Post by WaywardWind »

Celestial navigation is simple enough to learn off a crib card. (Does Davis still make 'em?)

It gets lots more complicated when one tries to use spherical geometry rather than planer geometry for about a meter greater accuracy at about a hundred miles out.

It gets REALLY complicated when one wants to use lunar angles to tell time rather than a quartz Timex.

In the days when celestial nav was the order of the day, long distance ships set their course for something a bit north or south of their distination, so when they finally spotted land, they KNEW which way to turn to get to where they wanted to go.