Anchorages in Maine

Cruising on your Cape Dory? Let us know your whereabouts and post cruise updates here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

knots

Anchorages in Maine

Post by knots »

I am new to CDSOA and am seeking suggestions for overnight anchorages between York, ME and Tenant's Harbor, ME. I expect to join the Carver's Harbor rendezvous August 8. We leave Stonington, CT this Saturday, July 17.
Craig & Joan Rowley
19 Summit Street
Stonington, CT 06378
Klem

Post by Klem »

Maine has an amazing abundance of good anchorages. The trouble with a lot of them is that they are way up rivers and bays and take a lot of time to get to if you are trying to make good time. If you are traveling during the week, you will have the pick of most of the anchorages but on the weekends, there may not be room in some of the real popular spots. Some places that I would consider include Peak's Island, Chebeague, Boothbay, Linekin Bay, Port Clyde. If you are looking for full service marinas, then this is not the best list but they are all places that you can anchor and go ashore and are pretty well protected.
Cathy Monaghan
Location: 1986 CD32 Realization #3, Rahway, NJ, Raritan Bay -- CDSOA Member since 2000. Greenline 39 Electra

Post by Cathy Monaghan »

Hi knots,

As Klem mentioned there are LOTS of great harbors to pull into along the Maine Coast. Before you leave the dock, be sure to purchase a copy of the following cruising guide:

A Cruising Guide to the Maine Coast , by Hank and Jan Taft and Curtis Rindlaub

There's an online version too. Here's a link to the section on the New Hampshire and southern Maine coast: http://www.mainecoastguide.com/r1/r1.html
But the book is a must.

GOOGLE search on "A Guide to the Maine Coast Taft"

Cathy
CD32 Realization, #3
Rahway, NJ
Raritan Bay
Joe CD MS 300
Location: Cape Dory Motor Sailor 300 / "Quest" / Linekin Bay - Boothbay Harbor

Post by Joe CD MS 300 »