5 day sail to Charleston, SC

Cruising on your Cape Dory? Let us know your whereabouts and post cruise updates here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

TheSandPebbles
CD31 #18
Charleston, SC

5 day sail to Charleston, SC

Post by TheSandPebbles »

Hey everyone,
I completed this sail with my brother-in-law just in time for Thanksgiving. I wanted to share the video with you. I plan to head on to the Bahamas and Caribbean later this winter.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlPnSWxDhVM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QlPnSWxDhVM
S/V ALEXANDRA
CD31 #18
Charleston, SC
"Tough, Rugged, and Happy"
http://sailingexpeditionalexandra.blogspot.com/
barfwinkle

Post by barfwinkle »

Nice Video. Well done.
Bill Member #250.
shavdog

S/V ALEXANDRA

Post by shavdog »

Nice video...we enjoyed the music, the sail and the dolphins...best to you and your adventure...craig and leslie..in minnesota
chase

voyage

Post by chase »

Very cool. I have never used Bogue or New River inlets before, how were they?

Sounds like a great passage to start your voyage, have fun going south. Cumberland Island at St Mary's entrance is a great stop if you're heading south. All of my family wish I could magically transport Anne Freeman there now.

Chase
Last edited by chase on Dec 13th, '09, 08:57, edited 1 time in total.
TheSandPebbles
CD31 #18
Charleston, SC

inlets

Post by TheSandPebbles »

Thanks, The music is from my favorite movie "The Sand Pebbles."
Both Bogue and New River inlets are awful and I recommend skipping both. I touched bottom on both and were I a more experienced sailor, I never would have tried it, I would have known better. If you have to choose one, use New River. Regardless, I had a great time. I can't wait to head south until the butter melts. :D
S/V ALEXANDRA
CD31 #18
Charleston, SC
Zeida
Location: 1982 CD33 "Bandolera II" Hull #73Key Biscayne-Miami, Florida

Post by Zeida »