CD 28 - club foot jib - and Thanks

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

warrenescape
Hull #260

CD 28 - club foot jib - and Thanks

Post by warrenescape »

First thanks for all the good advice on aux power - my earlier post. In fact I had the engine pulled (Volvo) and completely gone through - spent about 1/2 of a new engine - but not inexpensive.

I am a novice at a club foot jib - and trying to better understand the relationship between the jib boom & clew tension. This weekend I hoisted the jib for the first time - and noticed that if I pulled the clew too far back - tension on the foot would not allow the hanks on the fwd stay to slide easily - makes sense. I am wondering if the relative height of the boom would resolve the issue - because I assume you don't have to adjust (tighten) the clew each time you raise the jib - if I am wrong I may be going to roller furling sooner than I expected!

Also - does the jib make contact with the boom when fully raised? It does not appear that the boom travels that far side-to-side, therefore I have concluded that the sail must have some contact twords the front of the boom and some "shape" as it is let further out. Not too many pictures I have found of teh 28 under sail - if you have some - please let me know.