removal of head thru-hull fittings on CD25

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

butterflier

removal of head thru-hull fittings on CD25

Post by butterflier »

Has anyone encountered the problem of removing the thru hull fitting for the head on a CD 25? What tool is there to prevent the fitting from turning as the seacock is being loosened inside the boat. The step wrenches I have seen for sale recommend using them only for replacing thru hulls, not removing them. What type of backing plate is advisable to insert on the inside of the hull. The original had no backing plate, just the fitting screwed into the seacock. Thanks
Sea Owl
CD25 Hull#438
Monmouth Beach, NJ

Removal of Thru Hull - CD 25

Post by Sea Owl »

As it happens, I am in the process of doing that exact thing on my CD25. I am no expert, but can only relate what I did and how I did it. My '76 CD25 had what appeared to be an 'original' head, with no holding tank when I bought it just over a year ago.

The ball valves (?Not seacocks, the Cape Dory "faucet handles"!!) were frozen solid. Better yet, the 'exhaust' for the head (port side inside the bunk) seeped at the bottom edge of the locking ring.

After staring at it ad nauseum, reading a lot on this board about thru hull replacement/repair, and going to other sites, I finally took the plunge.

Step One was taking out the head, and removing the hoses. Got that done without hurting myself or the boats, so gave myself high marks there.