Dingy Recommendations

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

Allan MacLean

Dingy Recommendations

Post by Allan MacLean »

I absolutely need to acquire my own dingy/outboard for next season. Tired of using the marina's excuse (although free) for a dingy. Rowing against the incoming/outgoing tides has become a real drag. Would appreciate suggestions. Thinking of 8'-10' maybe even 12' so the teenager can "zip around" when he gets bored. 2Hp-6Hp for an outboard. Must be a hard not an inflatable. Any experiences with Walker Bay? I wonder about their stability. Suggestions?
Joe Myerson
Location: s/v Creme Brulee, CD 25D, Hull #80, Squeteague Harbor, MA

Walker Bay experience

Post by Joe Myerson »

Allan,

I've been using a Walker Bay 8-footer for 4 or 5 years.

Advantages are that it is very light, that it's durable (This year I didn't secure it very well to my cartop, and it slid off, banging my hood and landing on pavement. Neither the car nor the boat were much the worse for wear--but I don't recommend trying this at home.), and that you don't really need to put a fender strip around the gunwales. It also isn't too bad for towing.

Disadvantages are that the light weight makes it kind of tippy, it doesn't hold very much, and because it's plastic, you can't put antifouling paint on it. If you store it dry, that's no problem. I leave mine tied to a dinghy dock, and I have to scrape it regularly. (Two good coatings of wax every spring makes this easier than it sounds.)

If you wanted a kid to be able to tool around in it with a small outboard, I'd recommend the next larger size--or the model with the inflatable gunwale, which is essentially a plastic RIB.

I'm very satisfied with this little dink for my very basic needs. But I don't have an engine for it--and we don't have any children.

Hope this input is helpful. Good luck in your search.
--Joe