Help!! My bilge is full, How do I empty it?

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

Hymodyne

Help!! My bilge is full, How do I empty it?

Post by Hymodyne »

Hi all,

I'm new to this discussion board, and a new cape dory owner (CD22, Hull #31, the Funky Dory).

I've just begun the process of cleaning a boat that has sat dormant on land for 20+ years. after scrubbing and cleaning the cabin with my girlfirend and firstmate, I hosed it down, only to see the bilge below me fill almost to the brim. I reached down through a narrow rectangular opening right below where the cabin ladder attaches and sets, as far as my arm could reach, and only found an even lower cavity, but no valve or means by which to release the icky, icky water.

Is there an owners manual on line or on CD Rom that I could buy or download? and in the short run, how do I get this water out of my
bilge?

hymodyne
Oswego John
Location: '66 Typhoon "Grace", Hull # 42, Schooner "Ontario", CD 85D Hull #1

FULL BILGE

Post by Oswego John »

Hymodyne,

That excess of water isn't doing any good to your hull or it's supports. I say, get it out of there ASAP.

Beg, borrow or steal a pump, even rent one for the time being. If push comes to shove, get a garden hose and syphon the water out. One way or another, get rid of the water for starters.. After that, then make plans for the future.

Good luck,

O J
"If I rest, I rust"
Voting Member #490
Neil Gordon
Location: s/v LIQUIDITY, CD28. We sail from Marina Bay on Boston Harbor. Try us on channel 9.

Re: Help!! My bilge is full, How do I empty it?

Post by Neil Gordon »

The owner's manuals can be found at http://www.capedory.org/cdinfo.html