MY NEW (to me) BOAT

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

tartansailor

MY NEW (to me) BOAT

Post by tartansailor »

Greetings,
newbie here; just made a deal on Fresh Start a 1975 Cape Dory 25 on the hard at Maryland Marina, in Baltimore.

http://adcache.boattraderonline.com/6/8/3/74414783.htm

Funny thing is I do not know how to sail a "BIG" boat. Raced Lightnings in my youth, but feel intimidated. It does not have roller furling or jiffy reefing and it doesn't even have a spinnaker!-bummer- need one! Shoot! I don't even know how to reef! You don't reef a Lightning.

Plan on sailing either south around the peninsula and up the Atlantic to Cape Henlopen, or maybe north and motor (ugh!) through the C&D Canal and down the Delaware River.

Anyone interested in showing me how to handle the sails? All the beer you can drink.
Dick
DanaVin
Location: Cape Dory 25, "Gladys Erzella", San Diego Bay--1977, Hull #541

Great!

Post by DanaVin »

Congratulations on a nice CD25!
She's a solid, well-built vessel and holds the drinks very cold in the ice chest!
Would love to go with you but I'm on the West Coast!
Welcome aboard!
Dana
"Gladys Erzella"
1977 CD25, #541
San Diego Bay
http://svGladysErzella.photosite.com

Post by Guest »

welcome aboard. Don't let her fool you. All of the sailing principles are the same as your lightning only the cd is more solid and holds more beer , people and stuff.
It is a classic looking boat. Hope you have many fine adventures.
slaume

she'll show you how

Post by slaume »