Solar battery charger for my CD25,

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

Will J

Solar battery charger for my CD25,

Post by Will J »

Hello all,
What do recommend as far as size, amps, where to buy a solar charging mat to plug into the battery to keep it changed while at my mooring? Is there a good place to get this solar mat that’s reasonably priced? I’m new to this as my old boat required no battery.

Thank you for your help.
Will
mgphl52

Re: Solar battery charger for my CD25,

Post by mgphl52 »

Will,
You can find a lot of info here using the search feature.
Another great location is https://marinehowto.com/
which used to be on Pbase.com as "mainecruising"
-michael & Toni CDSOA #789
s/v KAYLA CD28 #318
2012 FLSTC Heritage Classic
Niceville FL
+30° 30' 24.60", -86° 26' 32.10"
"Just because it worked, doesn't mean it works." -me
No shirt + No shorts = No problem!
Carl Thunberg

Post by Carl Thunberg »

I have little expertise in solar battery charging systems, but I know there are no simple answers. It all starts with an inventory of your power consumption needs, and battery type. The stock CD25 is a simple boat with interior lights and navigation lights. Do you have an electronic bilge pump? Do you have a chartplotter? Do you have sailing instruments, sound system, or other power requirements?