Refrigeration

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

Peter Cryans

Refrigeration

Post by Peter Cryans »

Hello all,
I have been lugging ice for 28 years and thought that it is time to install a refrigeration system. I have a CD36 Hull #149. can anybody tell me what they have installed and the positives and negatives of the systems installed.

Thanks, PC "FALLEN"

Also I am ready to install a new autopilot. Any suggestions here?
Tom Keevil

Re: Refrigeration

Post by Tom Keevil »

Two years ago we bought an Engel MR040 portable. It sits near the front of the quarter berth, behind a cushion for sitting at the nav table. The space behind the fridge is used for storage - we don't use it as a berth. The old ice box is used for storage - there is a lot of room in there without any ice.

When we resupply at a port, we plug into AC, and let it run overnight in freezer mode to freeze all of our meat, which we have vacuum bagged. If it is only a week or less until our next supply point, we also freeze a container of water to reduce the time the fridge has to run. For a two week period there isn't enough room to include the ice. We then switch to DC mode, turn it up to refrigerator temperature and put in the milk and other stuff we don't want frozen.

It is highly efficient - it has only one moving part - and we have sat at anchor for four days with the battery still above 50% charge. Our house bank is 240 Ah. Of course we sail in a cool climate. Since we are in cold water, we store things like cheese, yogurt, fruit and vegetables against the hull under the settees or in the bilge, but for shorter trips we can toss them into the fridge as well.