CD Typhoon bulkhead mounted compass

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

pjust

CD Typhoon bulkhead mounted compass

Post by pjust »

I'm thinking of installing a bulkhead mounted compass in the cockpit of my Typhoon Weekender, though I'm a little nervous about putting a 3-4" hole in the bulkhead. Does anyone have experience doing this? Advice? Recommendations?

Peter Just
Spruce Head, ME
CD Typhoon Weekender #602 "Dolcetto"
Peter Just
Typhoon Weekender #602, Dolcetto, Spruce Head, ME
"It is not with impunity that we go out on the water, but with sufferance." - Roger C. Taylor
Steve Laume

Re: CD Typhoon bulkhead mounted compass

Post by Steve Laume »

I have lots of experience with making holes in my boat. It is pretty easy with either a hole saw or a saber saw with some tape on the shoe so you don't scratch the remaining finish.

My advise would be to think about how you use your boat and how valuable that area is for seating. Is the compass going to stick out and make sitting there uncomfortable. Even more of a consideration is weather someone sitting there will block the compass.

My recommendation would be to make up a spare bottom board for the companion way and mount the compass in the board. You just slide the board in when you want or need the compass. Otherwise it is out of the way and protected from the elements. People can still sit with theirs backs against the bulkhead and they are never in the way of the compass. There is no favored side either as the compass is in the middle of the boat.

As a plus, you wouldn't be nervous because if you did mess up, you could chuck the board and start over again, Steve.
Steve Bryant
"Elan"
Ocean Springs, MS

Post by Steve Bryant »

Hi Peter,