Pinrail / butt braces

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

Steve Laume

Pinrail / butt braces

Post by Steve Laume »

I am finalizing a project I have been contemplating for a few years. I now have a fine set of pin boards for Raven's lower shrouds. These will also serve as a brace for my back side while standing on the cabin top and working at the mast.

They are heavy duty and have three holes, each, for belaying pins. I haven't turned the pins as yet but they will be 1/2" stainless or brass rod with wooden handles. The wood I am using for the handles is scrap from the building of the Amistad, at Mystic Seaport. A turners group I was active with at the time turned all the ship's belaying pins. As a thank you for our participation we were given a tour of the boat building facility. We also got to scrounge through a few pallets of scrap wood for our own use. I have been saving this wood for a worthy project and belaying pins for Raven seems a perfect fit. I did three pins for the Amistad and initialed the ends before they were placed aboard. My son managed to find a couple, when she was in port, several years after her launch. I like the way this project ties things together.

My question for the board is how best to tie the boards to the shrouds. Not so much the method as the material. It seems the shrouds should be seized and then the boards lashed to the shrouds. I believe this would have traditionally been done with tarred marlin. I do have some of this material somewhere and love the smell and the way it works. Would it still be the material of choice or would a more modern twine be a better choice? Heavy sail twine? A combination of marlin seizing and sail twine lashing? Has anyone else added pin boards?