CD-25 (not CD-25D) conversion to inboard motor

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

jepomer

CD-25 (not CD-25D) conversion to inboard motor

Post by jepomer »

Please approach this question as an academic exercise.

I have read that there is at least one CD-25 that was converted to an inboard drive.

I want to focus solely on a THEORETICAL conversion of a CD-25 to an inboard drive train rather than using an outboard.

For this discussion, I am not interested in "retaining the resale value" or other similar statements.

Since I have a functional outboard, that will in all likelihood be the way I will stay. But since my background is science and engineering, I can't help but ponder the question.

QUESTIONS:
1) What does the existing inboard conversion(s) look like?
2) Would the keel be able to be modified so that the rudder can remain unmodified?
3) Other drive train conversion concerns?

WHY PONDER THIS MODIFICATION:
Reading the posts about space for a 4-stroke outboard in the lazarette and knowing that if the boat "hobby-horses" the propeller can come out of the water, I wondered what would be required to install a drive shaft and propeller in front of the rudder and through the keel similar to what the CD-25D does.

STATUS of our CD-25:
Our CD-25 (#622) has not yet made it to the water this year due to cold/rainy early spring weather, constraints of a day-job and since I want to do the work myself. Also, we do have a Capri 22 which is in the water and actively sailed almost twice-a-week leaving less time free to work on the CD-25. But with my CD-25 in my driveway, I do ponder all sorts of options.