Boat cover

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

Doug Pearce

Boat cover

Post by Doug Pearce »

Good evening, I am the proud new owner of a 1975 Ty Weekender. While I am not new to sailing, I am new to CD and to this board. (My CDSOA application went in the mail at 0900!) Presently my new "baby" is under a Home Depot tarp in my driveway. Has anyone had any experience purchasing a "custom" boat cover (Sunbrella?) for the Ty. Thank you. Doug
Mike Wainfeld
Bayshore, NY

Fairclough cover

Post by Mike Wainfeld »

I've had a Fairclough cover for my Typhoon for the past 5 or 6 years and I'm happy with it.
Chris Reinke
Location: CD330 - Innisfail (Gaelic for "A Little Bit Of Heaven on Earth"), Onset, MA

I would also recommend Fairclough

Post by Chris Reinke »

I had an old heavy canvas tarp we had custom cut ourselves for our CD330, whihc had lasted 8 years, then we bought the Fairclough cover and frame system.....what a big difference. I should have bought the new cover years ago. It is much easier to erect the frame and the installation was much easier (faster) than our old cover. Fairclough has the dimensions of most Cape Dory models and can offer a competitive price quote via their web page, or give them a call. I had to make a few adjustments to the dimensions they had on file to accommodate my custom bow rail, and a stern mounted radar mast but that was easily accomplished with a few measurements and digital photos.
Cathy Monaghan
Location: 1986 CD32 Realization #3, Rahway, NJ, Raritan Bay -- CDSOA Member since 2000. Greenline 39 Electra

Post by Cathy Monaghan »

I'm not sure but I think Hypobaric wants a summer cockpit or mooring cover for his Typhoon, the kind you cover the boat with after returning to the mooring or dock.

Hypobaric, do you want a summer cockpit/mooring cover (Sunbrella) or a winter cover (heavy-duty canvas)?

Cathy