Jack Stand Size For a CD27

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

satu

Jack Stand Size For a CD27

Post by satu »

Hello,
I've been renting a set of jack stands from my boatyard for many years @ $125/yr. After having paid for them several times over, I've decided to buy a set .

My boat is a CD27, and I suspect that 48"-65" jack stands would work. Can anyone confirm this or provide apppropriate size info ?

Appreciate your help on this.

Craig Urquhart
CD27 Satu 1984 #272
Brunswick, Maine
bottomscraper

Post by bottomscraper »

From the Brownell Web Site it looks like SB-2 48" 65"

How to Choose
Type: The correct type of boat stand (sailboat vs. motorboat) is determined by the angle between the hull and the stands center pipe. The threaded rod from the top that enters the stands center pipe should do so at approximately a 90° angle to the boats hull. For example, a motor boat with a deep vee bow would use a pair of sailboat stands at the bow, with motor boat stands at the stern.
Size: To determine the proper Brownell Boat Stands to use, you first must realize the boat stands are to stabilize your boat and the keel blocking supports the boats weight. A simple method would be to take the draft of the boat (in inches), add the height of the blocking pile, and subtract about six inches. Base your decision on keeping a minimum amount of thread exposed on the top.

Number Required: A minimum of four boat stands should be used with powerboats and a minimum of five boat stands should be used with sailboats. One exception: a full keel sailboat may not require a bow stand. Use a pair of boat stands, one placed port and one placed starboard, for approximately each 8 feet of the boat's length. If you are going to be stored in an extremely windy area or leaving a sailboat mast stepped, extra boat stands should be used in addition to our minimum requirements.