Sailing A CD27 from the upper Chesapeake to NYC?

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

RonE58

Sailing A CD27 from the upper Chesapeake to NYC?

Post by RonE58 »

I am looking to purchase a CD 27 In Pasadena, MD some time in the next week or two. How doable is it to sail up to NYC from the upper Chesapeake bay? I have little experience on the ocean but my two buddies have plenty. In general how long would the trip take?
Ron
John D.
CD27 #105
Annapolis, Maryland

2 days to Cape May, then ?

Post by John D. »

Here is a description of sailing from Chesapeake Bay to Cape May, NJ.

http://www.cblights.com/cruising/Delmar ... gation.pdf
Russell

Re: Sailing A CD27 from the upper Chesapeake to NYC?

Post by Russell »

RonE58 wrote:I am looking to purchase a CD 27 In Pasadena, MD some time in the next week or two. How doable is it to sail up to NYC from the upper Chesapeake bay? I have little experience on the ocean but my two buddies have plenty. In general how long would the trip take?
Ron
CD27 would have no problems doing this. Here is a break down of what to expect day by day:

Day 1: Chesapeake Bay to C&D Canal, stop overnight halfway through the canal (cant remember town name, someone help here).