considering purchase

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

ron

considering purchase

Post by ron »

I've been sailing for 30 years and have owned an S2 8.0 for 10 years. I'm 60, sail in the Chesapeake, and looking for a slightly larger boat, maybe a CD 30, maybe a ketch, maybe a cutter. Draft is important to me, (I don't want to draw more than 4'6"). Is there anything anyone reading this might suggest I look out for when considering a CD other than the normal stuff one would check on any boat.? I am open to any and all suggestions, older boats are fine with me as I have reason and enough experience to appreciate hand laid FG hulls. I'm not a racer and do not plan on any trans atlantic voyages, though some coastal sailing to the Caribbean would not be out of the question. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Neil Gordon
Location: s/v LIQUIDITY, CD28. We sail from Marina Bay on Boston Harbor. Try us on channel 9.

Re: considering purchase

Post by Neil Gordon »

ron wrote:Is there anything anyone reading this might suggest I look out for when considering a CD other than the normal stuff one would check on any boat.?
Watch out for someone else stepping up and buying a really good boat while you procrastinate. :wink:

You just have to watch for the usual things that happen to older boats. Get a good survey and you'll be fine.

A CD30 will take you anywhere... there's both a 25D and a 28 each about half way around the world right now.
Fair winds, Neil

s/v LIQUIDITY
Cape Dory 28 #167
Boston, MA

CDSOA member #698
Ron Turner
Oriental, NC

CD30 Ketch

Post by Ron Turner »

As the owner of a CD 30 ketch I can tell you that if you REALLY like to sail and feel the boat resopnd do not get a ketch with the Edson worm gear steering. Otherwise the boat is GREAT.
Ron Turner
Evergreen