Varnish Thinner

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: bobdugan

Carl Thunberg

Varnish Thinner

Post by Carl Thunberg »

I finally got around to stripping and sanding the coamings I took off last fall. I have purchased Epifanes gloss varnish, and I'm ready to go. I admit I've never done this before. I've searched this board and found extensive, and very good advice on varnishing. What I haven't found is what type of thinner should you use? Epifanes makes a varnish thinner, but it's wicked expensive. I'm not one to skimp on materials, but I'm also not one to throw my money away needlessly. Can I use pure spirits of gum turpentine that I can buy at my local hardware store? Any other suggestions?

Carl
CDSOA Commodore - Member No. 725

"The more I expand the island of my knowledge, the more I expand the shoreline of my wonder"
Sir Isaac Newton
Richard Bell

Varnish thinner

Post by Richard Bell »

Try a product called Penetrol. It will thin the varnish so that it goes on without brushmarks and smooths out flat. Put your varnish in the container you will use to dip your brush and then add the Penetrol in tablespoons until you get the consistency you desire. Usually like milk. For clean up and the intitial coat thin the varnish with regular lacquer thinner to the same consistency.

Something I have tried recently and found works very well. Use West System 105/207 for the first four coats. Then apply the varnish with the penetrol (as many coats as you can stand). You will end up with a very nice finish, as well as good waterproofing. It is not difficult, follow the instructions, practice on some extra wood and insure you heat or apply the west system at the woods warmest temperature of the day.

Good luck.

Rick
Rick Bell
CD 33 Pegasus
Sandy D.
Grosse Pointe,Mi

varnish

Post by Sandy D. »

Carl,