What should I do about these bow cracks?

Discussions about Cape Dory, Intrepid and Robinhood sailboats and how we use them. Got questions? Have answers? Provide them here.

Moderator: Jim Walsh

Jerry S.

Post by Jerry S. »

In the process of refinishing the hull, I uncovered these cracks in the bow. Are there any suggestions about what, if anything, should be done? Has anyone seen this before?

Jerry.

Jerry S
DanaVin
Location: Cape Dory 25, "Gladys Erzella", San Diego Bay--1977, Hull #541

Cracks

Post by DanaVin »

Hi,
Is that your hull or are you down to the barrier coat? It looks like the hull's fiberglass is cracked pretty good to me..
If that is the case, you are probably in for some fiberglass repair.
I'm not an expert by any means but it is do-able. Done right, it will be as good, if not better, than new.
We had an old fiberglass 18' power boat one time. It was old. So old the hull was so flexible it wouldn't even plane. We just used it for fishing and getting to campsites. We constantly patched up large cracks and even a good size hole when my oldest ran her into the rocks one night. Takes some time but it's not all that bad. Getting the right mixture of epoxy and hardner is the tricky part.
I would first suggest getting "This Old Boat" and reading it along with one specifically on Fiberglass repairs. Believe International Marine has it or Amazon. WM also has free booklets on repairs like this.
If it's a CD, and like mine, the hull is pretty thick with a ply board form. Thank goodness they didn't know about how thin they could build them in those days!
I'd do some more research for you but everything is boxed up right now. I'm positive other members will respond more intelligently than what I've provided. Main thing... don't give up the ship! Believe me, if I could do it, anyone could do it!
Thanks
Dana
fenixrises

Post by fenixrises »

Hi Jerry,

From your photos it looks like mostly cosmetic damage.